Skip to main content
Login

Step 3 of 10

Register your business in Nebraska

File a Certificate of Organization or articles of incorporation, publish the notice, and register a trade name if you use one.

Checked against official sources on

General information, not legal or tax advice. Requirements vary and change, so confirm current instructions with the official source before you act, and ask a CPA or attorney about your situation.

LLCs and corporations file with the Nebraska Secretary of State1. A sole proprietorship has no formation filing. A name you trade under can be registered as a trade name. It is a different filing from the company name.

What’s different in Nebraska

  • Publish a newspaper notice after you form the company. An LLC publishes near its designated office. A business corporation publishes in the county of its principal office.
  • The recurring Secretary of State filing is every other year, and the years do not match. An LLC reports in odd-numbered years. A for-profit corporation pays an occupation tax in even-numbered years. Stay compliant has the dates.
  • There is not a general business license in Nebraska2. The formation filing is not a license to do the work.
  • Online filing is cheaper, and a portal fee may sit on top. Formation is $100 online or $1101 in the office. Standard portal fees still apply to online filings6. The page does not state the amount.* Check the payment screen.
  • The statute and the fee table do not print the same certificate charge. Details are below.

Do this

  1. Pick your structure. LLC, corporation, nonprofit, partnership, or sole proprietorship. A sole proprietor or general partnership has no formation filing and can skip to the trade name step. Pick an entity compares them.
  2. Ask the Secretary of State about the name, in writing. Email sos.corp@nebraska.gov or use the address on the name procedures page. A name check is a courtesy. It is not a guarantee the name will be accepted. Only the filed document decides. The name cannot be the same as another name on record. If the staff rejects a name for similarity, consent from the owner may be an option3. An LLC name must contain Limited Liability Company or Limited Company, or L.L.C., LLC, L.C., or LC16. A corporation name must contain corporation, incorporated, company, or limited, or corp., inc., co., or ltd.17 Search the web and the federal trademark database too.
  3. Reserve the name only if you are not ready to file. The reservation is filed in writing, with the fee, and only if the staff approves it. The hold is 1203 days. The fee is $301. The fee table does not list online filing for that application.
  4. Name a registered agent with a Nebraska office. The agent may be a member, a person who lives in Nebraska, or another business authorized to transact business in Nebraska. The agent's office must be the same as the registered office. You must keep a registered agent in Nebraska4. Changing the agent later is 30 dollars in the office, or 25 dollars online. An LLC agent’s resignation is $30. A corporation agent’s resignation is no fee1.
  5. File in Corporate Document eDelivery4. You upload a signed PDF. The fee depends on the structure, below. Online filings are processed first. The fee FAQ does not list a separate rush price.* A card payment is allowed. Standard portal fees still apply to online filings6, and the amount is not stated.* The certificate of organization has a line for an effective date other than the filing date. An LLC’s delayed date takes effect on that date or on the ninetieth day after filing, whichever comes first11. A corporation’s delayed date can be no later than the ninetieth day after filing12.
  6. Publish the notice, then file the proof. The newspaper price is not on the statute or the fee table.* The state’s charge to file the proof is below.
  7. Register a trade name only if you will use a name other than the legal name. Details are below.
  8. Calendar the next Secretary of State filing. An LLC formed this year files its first biennial report between January 1 and April 1 of the odd-numbered year after the year the company was formed18. A corporation’s occupation tax applies to every for-profit corporation that is registered with the Secretary of State on January 1 of the even-numbered year19. Get your tax IDs covers sales tax.

By structure

LLC

File a Certificate of Organization for $100 online or $1101 in the office. The company can be member-managed, or managed by one or more managers2.

Section 21-192 prices that certificate at one hundred ten dollars in writing or one hundred dollars electronically, and ten dollars for a certificate7. The fee table’s domestic row is $110 in the office or $100 online, and it does not add the certificate charge on that row. A sealed certificate, if you order one from the records list, is $101.* Those lines do not say the same thing. Check the total when you pay.

Other LLC filings are thirty dollars in writing, or twenty-five dollars electronically, for filings other than the ones the statute prices separately7. The biennial report is one of those filings. The fee table does not give the report its own row. A correction to a biennial report is listed at $301 with no online price on that row.* Check the screen.

Then publish. The notice runs for three successive weeks in a legal newspaper of general circulation near the designated office. File proof of publication with the Secretary of State8. Filing that proof is 30 dollars in the office, or 25 dollars online1. The biennial report is due in odd-numbered years, by April 1, and it is delinquent June 165. The first one is due between January 1 and April 1 of the odd-numbered year after the year the company was formed18.

Professional LLC

The professional certificate is the same 110 dollars in the office, or 100 dollars online. The fee table also lists a certificate from an examining board at $301. The table does not say which professions must bring it.* If your work is licensed, ask the board before you file.

Corporation

File articles of incorporation2 for $100 online or $110 in the office. The name must contain corporation, incorporated, company, or limited, or corp., inc., co., or ltd.17 Publish for three successive weeks in a legal newspaper in the county of the principal office, or of the registered office if there is no principal office in Nebraska9. Proof of that notice is filed with the Secretary of State. Filing that proof is also 30 dollars in the office, or 25 dollars online1.

The occupation tax comes later, in even-numbered years, by March 1, and it is delinquent April 155. It applies to every for-profit corporation that is registered with the Secretary of State on January 1 of the even-numbered year. The tax is twenty-six dollars when paid-up capital does not exceed ten thousand dollars. When paid-up capital exceeds one hundred million dollars, the statute’s tax is twenty-three thousand nine hundred ninety dollars19. The bands between those two are in section 21-303. This page does not calculate your band.

S corporation status is a federal election. Nebraska’s income return is on Get your tax IDs.

Nonprofit

File articles for $25 online or $30 in the office. The biennial report is due in odd-numbered years, by April 1, and delinquent June 165. A nonprofit publishes its notice of incorporation for three successive weeks in a legal newspaper in the county of the principal office, or of the registered office if there is no principal office in Nebraska10, then files proof with the Secretary of State. The nonprofit block of the fee table lists that proof at 30 dollars in the office, or 25 dollars online1. 501(c)(3) status is a separate application to the IRS. Past formation, the rest of this series is written for for-profit businesses.

Partnership

No formation filing is required for a general partnership2. If you file a statement of partnership authority, the fee is $1101.

A limited partnership files a certificate of limited partnership2 for $1101.

A limited liability partnership files a statement of qualification for $1101. The annual report is due every year by April 1, and delinquent June 165. The fee table lists a correction to that annual report and does not print the report’s own fee.* Check it when you file.

Sole proprietorship

No formation filing. Few formalities are required. Sales tax registration and any license your work needs still apply. A trade name is optional.

Trade names

File when you want a state record of a name other than the legal name. The fee is $100 online or $110 in the office. It lasts 10 years from the filing date. Renewal is $1101. The filing gives statutory rights, including a civil action for misuse of the name and for counterfeits2. A Nebraska trade name does not tell you whether the name is registered with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office20.

You must publish one legal notice in a newspaper of general circulation where the business will be located, or in the county if that place has no newspaper. The affidavit of publication can be filed online at no charge. If the proof is not filed within forty-five days, the Secretary of State cancels the registration20. The newspaper’s price is not on the form.*

Formed in another state

An LLC formed elsewhere files a certificate of authority for 110 dollars in the office, or 100 dollars online, plus 10 dollars for a certificate. A corporation files an application for a certificate of authority at $100 online or $1101 in the office. The foreign corporation row does not add the extra certificate amount the foreign LLC row adds. A corporation also delivers a certificate of existence from its home state, dated no more than sixty days before the application is delivered14. Read the application before you file. You still need a Nebraska registered agent. Forming in another state covers the tradeoffs.

What you get back

A filed certificate or articles, then a published notice and a filed proof. Keep them for the EIN and the bank. The report notice goes to the registered agent. Missing the agent can lead to administrative dissolution4. If the report is missed, the result is administrative dissolution, or revocation of authority5. The company still exists, but only to wind up. It may lose limited liability and the name2. Reinstatement is $30. Late reinstatement is $5001, for an application more than five years after an LLC's administrative dissolution7, or more than five years after a corporation's administrative dissolution or revocation13. Use the form the office sends you.

Common questions

How much does it cost to start an LLC in Nebraska?

The Secretary of State charges $100 online or $110 in the office to file a Certificate of Organization. A name reservation is $30 and lasts 120 days. Statute 21-192 prices that filing at one hundred ten dollars in writing or one hundred dollars electronically, and ten dollars for a certificate. The domestic fee row does not add that certificate charge. Check the total on the payment screen.

How much does it cost to incorporate in Nebraska?

Articles of incorporation are $100 online or $110 in the office. A nonprofit is $25 online or $30 in the office. The occupation tax is a later filing, in even-numbered years, and it starts at twenty-six dollars.

Do I have to publish a notice in Nebraska?

Yes for an LLC, a domestic business corporation, and a domestic nonprofit corporation. An LLC publishes for three successive weeks in a legal newspaper of general circulation near the designated office. A business corporation publishes for three successive weeks in a legal newspaper in the county of the principal office, or of the registered office if there is no principal office in Nebraska. [Section 21-19,173](https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=21-19,173) sets the same rule for a nonprofit. The newspaper's price is not on the statute.\* Ask the paper before you add it to your budget. Then file proof with the Secretary of State.

Can I be my own registered agent in Nebraska?

Yes, if you qualify. The agent may be a member, a person who lives in Nebraska, or another business authorized to transact business in Nebraska. The agent's office must be the same as the registered office.

Do I need a trade name in Nebraska?

Only if you want the state record for a name other than the legal name. It costs $100 online or $110 in the office and lasts 10 years from the filing date. You also publish one newspaper notice.

Sources

  1. Nebraska Secretary of State, forms and fees
  2. Nebraska Secretary of State, new business information
  3. Nebraska Secretary of State, name procedures
  4. Nebraska Secretary of State, registered agents
  5. Nebraska Secretary of State, annual and biennial reporting
  6. Nebraska Secretary of State, fee changes FAQ
  7. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-192, LLC filing fees
  8. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-193, LLC notice
  9. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-2,229, corporation notice
  10. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-19,173, nonprofit notice
  11. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-121, LLC effective dates
  12. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-206, corporation effective dates
  13. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-205, corporation filing fees
  14. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-2,205, foreign corporations
  15. USPTO, trademark search
  16. sos.nebraska.gov/sites/default/files/doc/business-services/Corporations/Forms/CertificateOfOrganization.pdf
  17. nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=21-230
  18. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-125, LLC biennial report
  19. Nebraska Revised Statute 21-303, occupation tax
  20. sos.nebraska.gov/sites/default/files/doc/business-services/Corporations/Forms/ApplicationforTradeName.pdf

Need a website for it?

No site yet? Describe your business and Surmado builds it from scratch, with a domain if you need one.